dog ride along
Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree5Likes

Thread: dog ride along

dog ride along

Well got the tw going, the further I get into it the more I realize that some people should not be their own mechanics. I am not a mechanic but I can rebuild a carb and follow instructions in the manual, and get such wonderful information from the tw forum thanks everybody for all your tech tips and tutorials. No oil, a rigged up boot from air intake to carb that had a big hole so no air was going through the filter, missing gaskets. O well by the time I am done with this ill be able to put another bike together. I think an engine overhaul or a new engine is in order along with a new cab later on as it will be ok for now. All the electrical works its got that going for it. Next will be chain, forks and spring upgrades.

Ill get to the point I have a 70 lb pitbull who wants to go on a ride with me. We tried putting getting him on the font of the seat but his feet dangle and I dont want his feet to get burned. Then we tried to get him to sit on the back but he cant sit on the narrow seat. So I guess ill have to get a large rack and build something that will attach to the rack. Has anybody done this before? What problems do you think Ill be running into? We will be doing FS and dirt roads no highway or very steep stuff. Its going to be registered as OHV until I get all the other stuff done then Ill start on replacing mirrors and lights. This is my first bike and am not sure how it will maneuver with the weight on the back if that will be a big deal or not.

1995 TW
    Point37 and docjekyll2002 like this.

My dog has ridden with me a lot over the years. She is a 45 lb cattle dog and might have better balance than a 70 Pit, but I hardly notice her on back. 70 lbs would be more noticeable, but both of you would have to get use to it.

I have the Cyclerack and put a piece of foam covered by carpet and all secured with a small cargo bungee. The carpet helps her with grip.