Just a scooter with balls?
Close

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree41Likes

Thread: Just a scooter with balls?

Just a scooter with balls?

Ok,...... I'm new here. In fact I'm new to the tw200 and dirt bikes and off roading. I don't have much if any physical experience riding a motorcycle on anything other than city streets, or modern highways with the exception of a 200cc motorcycle trip through Bali which included some dirt roads that were remarkably civilized.

when I was eighteen I owned an xj550 which I felt was underpowered for rural Illinois and later I inherited my fathers 1000cc Moto Guzzi which is awesome but also almost 800lbs and a killer to do anything with but propel my 6 foot 155lb frame in a straight line for hours.

I LOVE MOTORCYCLES! I love scooters.. I love anything with two wheels that propel me faster than i could go naturally and the best times i've had on a bike have been away from civilization, (Bali, Mexico)..

Sooo... This being said. I've got a little cash, i'm a frugal spender and hoping to buy a bike thats going to be perfect for my next adventure..

What is it you may ask?..

I'm moving to San Jose Cabo BAJA SUR MEXICO!!!! I want a bike to tear down pot hole riddled streets, long, relatively civilized dirt roads through the southern tip of the baja and of course act like a hooligan on without worrying so immensely about busting the machine up.

sound like a tw200? not sure? I'm worried about the drive between Cabo San Lucas And San Jose... It's a civilized modern stretch of two or four lane highway with no lights and a lot of drunk speeding locals who like to crash into inanimate objects. BEAUTIFUL RIDE! but not the kind of ride i want to do on a bike that doesn't have some balls so is the T-DUB out?

OR

Do I just avoid this ride and reserve it for the jeep?

Im worried that my infatuation with the tw200 is just about aesthetics. (big tires) but the TW just seems like a Scooter with balls ..ok.. "off road scooter with balls".