• 1 Post By RockyTFS
  • 1 Post By phelonius
  • 2 Post By mudbug
  • 4 Post By Purple
  • 1 Post By Mr.Paynter
  • 3 Post By Tbomb

Thread: 2015 tw 200

2015 tw 200

Well folks, I picked up my youngest sons TW on Friday and have ridden it a few times. I must say, it produced many grins from me. I do find that the steering is a bit strange at low speed, ( I've not been over 25mph yet) but, I attribute it to the massive front tire. I have never had a bike that had such a big tire in relation to the amount of power that it has. Anyway, I can't post any pictures yet because my camera is on the fritz. I do have my first stupid question though( please bear with me as I am a newb). What the hell was Yamaha thinking when they forgot the kickstarter! Is the brownout voltage for the CDI so high that they figured if the starter wouldn't turnover that you shouldn't be able to ride this thing? I'm sure you guys have heard this countless times and I apologize beforehand for asking something that I should have known beforehand! Overall, I really dig this bike! (Is dig still acceptable these days?).

A lot of us has the kick starter thing fixed. You can get a kit and put one in. All mine, three of them have them. The one had it at birth, the other two being after 2000 had to have an implant.
    Peterb, mudbug and TWilight like this.

My 2010 didn't have a kick starter and I felt just like you. I now have 10,500 miles in 5 years and have never yet been stranded...(knock on wood). I pay a LOT of attention to the battery's health and replace it every 4 years........ But I live in hilly territory and almost never encounter a stretch where I could not bump start it. Not like Louisiana!
    TWilight likes this.
    Rocky
    2018 TW200
    2014 BMW R1200GS LC

4. Remove Advertisements
    TW200Forum.com
    Advertisements

As for your odd steering feeling, check the air pressure. A few pounds under inflated is noticeable because of the tire width.
    PlacerLode likes this.