Beyond paint, how has the TW changed throughout the years?
Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree15Likes

Thread: Beyond paint, how has the TW changed throughout the years?

Beyond paint, how has the TW changed throughout the years?

I am new to the TW200, but have ridden cruisers since I was 19. I've always wanted to go off-road, but am not a daredevil (I'll leave that up to the cousins). Adventure, though! That makes me happy. This little bike seems to fit the bill. I want to buy one, but want to understand the difference between model years.

After being on the forum for a couple of days, it appears that there's a steady color shift year-to-year, but what about the mechanics? Is one year more reliable than another? Were there any tweaks or upgrades that made the bike better? If so, what year model?

I'm really looking forward to buying one soon. Money's burning a hole in my pocket, but I want to be smart about this too.

Any advice will be greatly appreciated.
    Fred and Aspenmeadow like this.

Quote Originally Posted by TWilight View Post
    We do have forum members out in that neck o' de' woods, so don't hesitate to ask someone to assist in checking out a bike you find, or ask US any questions you have.....before buying. if you find a bike, take a LOT of pictures...show them to us...and allow us to help you.

And WELCOME to the forum
    Thanks for the quick reply! I have really enjoyed the forums so far. You guys are a wealth of knowledge and know-how.

This is the bike I hope to pick up Tuesday (if no one else grabs it first): 1999 TW200 YAMAHA DUAL SPORT

I spoke with the gentleman on the phone and he says he has two of the TW200's: one he's painted up and outfitted for off-road, and this one that is setup for street. I'll be buying the "street bike" version.

Any chance this bike belongs to a forum member? I know I could trust it then...