BOOTS?
Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: BOOTS?

I'm wondering if there is anything out there that will give me a little more ankle protection but still allow me to hike after the ride in.

I use my TW to get to Hiking areas. Occassionaly that takes me on some pretty rocky roads. I wear a hiking boot that is a little over the ankle. What I think would be ideal is some kind of removable support that goes from the ankle up that I could wear for the ride in then remove for the hike

Does anybody have any experience with such a product?

Thanks

What about an ankle brace that basketball players use? I know that aircast makes some stuff that is pretty rigid.

I wear one pair of Alt-Berg boots for riding motorcycles, hiking and working. They are expensive but quality is quality and I have been wearing the same pair for 10 years now.

I don't know if they are avaible in the States though.

See here http://www.altberg.co.uk/Web/police_FFOrigP.jsp

4. Remove Advertisements
    TW200Forum.com
    Advertisements

The flexibility comfortable hiking requires is not compatable with the foot and ankle protection a dirt bike boot requires. I compromise and wear a work boot with safety toes and soccer shin guards. Other people I know just carry their hiking shoes with them and change when they get off the bike.

To protect your ankles you need ce protection on both sides of the boots, hiking, work or other non moto boots will not cut it. Just get a good moto boot and carry lightweight hiking boots with you. I've seen pictures of ankles after draging on asphalt, it will make you want to throw up. Good boots will just about prevent it. Just remember what my MSF instructor said, "it's not if you will crash, only when". I like Oxtar Infinity boots, tall but super comfortable, after a ride I forget I have them on. If it's a short ride 1 or 2 days I don't even take street shoes, that's how comfortable they are.