TW Stock Tires, please explain.
Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree38Likes

Thread: TW Stock Tires, please explain.

TW Stock Tires, please explain.

Hi,

I'm new to the TW200. I'm interested in getting one. My question is, what exactly do those big tires do for me? I've not seen a dual-sport bike with tires like these before. Thanks for the help.

More rubber as in wider tires equals a more stable ride which is much better off road. Traction is the main attraction with the TW and I have both a TW 200 and an XT225 that has the skinny standard type of off road tires. The XT rides much smoother on pavement and with the skinny tires it is faster and a bit more agile but when I get off road on the XT I always notice how it lacks the traction when the going gets rough.

GaryL
    Be Decisive! Right or Wrong just make a decision. ​ The road of life is paved with flat squirrels that couldn't make a decision.

Since light travels faster than sound, some people appear bright until you hear them speak.
    If I agreed with you, we'd both be wrong.

1987 Yamaha BW350 Big Wheel
    2017 Snowdog Track sled tow motor for ice fishing
    Kubota BX2370 Subcompact tractor with snow blower
    Wilderness System Ride 115 fishing Kayaks

HA. I'm in Charleston, SC. I've been an ATV rider all my life. I'm interested in the TW200 but still kind of nervous to switch to a motorcycle because of a fear of crashing or having the bike slip on some gravel or rocks and laying me down. My thought was that the bigger tires would have more traction whether on the road or on the trail. My initial plan was to ride this bike to and from work half the time and back on the trails some too. I thought this bike would be a good intro bike for me. Thoughts?
    Peterb likes this.

4. Remove Advertisements
    TW200Forum.com
    Advertisements

Go into the photos and videos thread and watch a few videos.

Quote Originally Posted by Phil-jk View Post