Flat Tire-Repairing/Supporting Motorcycle
Close

I'm a total Newbie, with very little motorcycle experience, actually none at all. I've just purchased a 1996 TW200. Riding it around my property in an attempt to learn, I managed to put a small branch, 1/8", through the front tire, resulting in a flat. Is a flat tire a repair that owners typically make, or do you head for the motorcycle shop? I'm reasonably handy, but I wasn't certain how to support the bike if you have to remove the front wheel. If one is going to do some of their own maintenance, which I plan, there must be a number of ways to support the bike during work? The bike has 3800 miles on it, the tires look fine, but I've heard a variety of opinions about replacing tires because of age and not tread. Thanks for any words of advice. The motorcycle is in immaculate condition, I'm excited to get riding.

All you need to support the bike when you take a wheel off is a sturdy wooden box or a milk crate.

Stand behind the bike with the box to the side of your bike right next to the engine and lift the back of bike up and sideways on to the box. If you are a fit man you can do this on your own, a lady or less fit man may need an extra pair of hands.

Later on you may like to make a prop stand that you can use by leaving the bike on it's side stand and push it over in the direction it is already leaning until the wheel is off the ground and put your prop some where that will hold it in position, this requires some practice as the bike is leaning quite procariously.

Fixing a flat is much the same as a push bike but everything needs a bit more muscle to get the tyre off.

I would encourage you to try it yourself as it's all part of the motorcycling experience and maintenance is something you will have to learn at some stage.

Have fun.