• 2 Post By JustPassinThru
  • 1 Post By Cornelis
  • 5 Post By vanillagorilla1
  • 2 Post By Tripp99
  • 1 Post By mrlmd
  • 1 Post By Mattwings

Thread: 99 tw200

99 tw200

So I finally got lucky a few weeks ago and found a clean 99 TW not too far from where I live with about 8,000 miles on it going for $1400. Long story short I'm now a proud owner of a TeeDub! Even though it's an older model, the owner seemed to have taken good care of the bike and used it mainly for commuting to work. So I feel pretty good about the condition of it. It's been running great so far! Anything I should know about this particular year? Also any tips for taking good care of this bad boy would be greatly appreciated. I have little experience with mechanics but I'm not afraid to try and learn a thing or two! Here's a pic of the bike [ATTACH=CONFIG]30774
    Attached Images Attached Images

Oh gawd not a 99!!!!

Ok I'm just giving you a hard time. Nice looking bike. I like the old style bikes. I think they were built a little better. Some may argue but all the old ones I've seen have better crappy welds and such. I like the fork leg drains that were removed on later models. I also like the simpler slide carb vs the cv on the newer ones.

If I were to pick one thing to check I would say check the cam chain adjuster. Might I add that any new bike I would comb over and tune up. Check chain and tires. Change oil, adjust valves, clean air filter, lube swing arm pivot,ect. A shop manual is a must have. Have fun
    93 tw. running like clockwork
    225 6 speed complete!
    82 honda gl500 silver wing. sold to a new home 11-24-17
    03 ducati monster 800sie. full rebuild and a danger to the public Hidden Content for sale

There are shop manuals you can d/l for free.

I can't tell you how I know - that would violate rules. But Google can be a friend - and if it lets you down, try Startpage.
    littletommy and Tripp99 like this.

4. Remove Advertisements
    TW200Forum.com
    Advertisements