Backpack recomendations
Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    I'm a camping geek. Mon-Fri 8-5 I work as a programmer but on the weekends I'm usually camping and far away from technology. I'm looking for a good backpack that that I can use for both. Ideally I would want something that is highly visible especially at night and that can hold my gadgets, gear and helmet. Right now I'm thinking about the Icon Squad 2 Mil Spec Backpack http://www.revzilla.com/product/icon...-spec-backpack. Has anyone used this backpack and have any advice?

Currently I have 6 normal backpacking bags (kinda have addiction to gear) but I would like something more suitable for riding. Normal trips are about 6 miles in town or 30 off road. Night trips would be almost daily. Everyday gear would be laptop, tablet, jacket, small sleeping bag, hammock and misc gear. I have been using a 40L osprey for 2 years and its worked great but does not hold a helmet and sucks for visibility at night.

I have not used this backback, but I would say you got it covered. This sucks does appears to do everything you need. In fact, it looks so cool I am now considering getting one...

Backpacks and riding offroad generally don't mix. You'll want your gadgets in something hard with padding when you take a spill such as Pelican cases. Anything much bigger than a day pack is likely to hang up on low branches, which is a ticket to injury. A hard frame extending over your shoulders is the worst. Just my observations of the experiences of others who broke their toys and their bodies. I've found the only way to to keep a backpack from interfering with the ride when the rider goes gymnastic is to cinch the straps uncomfortably tight. This I know from experience.

If you have or find a pack you really like but it's not high vis, you can make iy high vis. You can buy 3M Scotchlite reflective material and sew it on anything. 3M also has a new material that heat transfers, if you know anyone with a transfer press.