Looking at a 1987 TW
Close

I'm a newbie to TW's, I've had various bikes through my life but not a fat wheeled DP. So I'm looking at a 1987 TW200 with 1600 miles, it's all original including the tires. It has been stored indoors and run every year but obviously not much. Mature owner (older guy). The thing is near new condition. Is there anything I should look for with this vintage? Are parts available? thanks in advance

The oldest models are surprisingly like the latest ones with the exception of lacking the disk brake in front, having a kick starter, and having a slightly weaker electrical system. There seem to be plenty of 87's still in play, and to my knowledge parts are available although a replacement cdi is expensive (but then again so are newer bikes). If you have one that has been ridden regularly it is far preferable to one dug out of long term storage or neglect. Cheers, Tom
    Tom - TW200 2002, Kawasaki VN 500 2006

Hidden Content

Central New Mexico

What is he asking for it? $3500? Forget it. $500? Jump on it real fast!

I have an '87 and love it. Maintenance is easy. Having a kick start is a real bonus. And I love the way the headlight gets brighter as I rev it -- only the '87's do that.
    Long live the internal combustion engine!

4. Remove Advertisements
    TW200Forum.com
    Advertisements

He's firm on $1500

Quote Originally Posted by Pilsner View Post
    He's firm on $1500

You didn't say where you are from so. IMO $1500 is to much. For $500 more or less you can get a newer model year and not deal with some of the quirks that the 87 has. Let us know where you are from and maybe we can help find you a newer Tdub.

Tracy
    A very very wise man once said “it’s more fun to ride a slow bike fast, than a fast bike slow”.

"Now then get your weapons... and go out to the open country to hunt some wild game for me"
    Gen:27:3

“I've noticed that everyone who is for abortion has already been born.”
    -Ronald Reagan

I'm in BC, Canada.