New owner & rider
Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hi everyone, I just got my first motorcycle this past week. My husband recently bought a KLR and suggested that we should buy me a bike so we could go in the hills together. So last weekend I decided to check out Craigslist and see what there was out there at a reasonable price. I came across this TW and starting researching the bike and found this forum. I can't tell you how much this site helped us make the decision to buy - what an invaluable resource this site has been! Anyway, its a 2003, picked it up for $1500 with 1100 miles on it. It has couple scratches on it and a small ding in the tank from being dropped, but other than that its in great shape.

I'm just starting out as a new rider at the young age of 49! Mid-life crisis maybe? lol. So far I've been familiarizing myself with the bike and its parts. I spent a couple hours in the backyard getting use to releasing the clutch, making turns, coordinating clutch, brake, throttle. I've driven it to our local convenience store and around the neighborhood. I haven't got much over 20 mph, just trying to get comfortable with the bike right now. Since I've never ridden a bike before I was worried I would have problems with getting started, but I've found the bike is pretty easy on a newbie. We live next to a tire shop, so I've been using their parking lot after hours to practice on. My husband is out fighting fires right now, so I'm hoping by the time he gets back I'll be able to show off my progress.

Absolutely love my bike! Makes me wonder why its taken me so long to get on one. Can't wait until I can take it out for a proper ride!

Welcome aboard.

I can explain it to you, but I can't understand it for you.

Powdercoated '87 frame, extended swingarm, YZ fork legs, ATV tire, 14/55, XT350 tank, spliced quick-release seat, disc brake conversion, beeg headlight, beeger rack, Lizrdcooler, Lizrdventz and bunch of other stuff all covered in invisible ink.