Learned a few things about the TDub Yesterday
Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    I got the bike new in December and now have over 4000 miles on it, and in that time i've only used spray on chain wax on the chain. It was recommended to me by the guy at the shop. I ran out of the spray and decided to use oil and am I glad I did, the bike rolls so much more freely now and has better acceleration. Was was I doing to my chain, poor thing. Also I learned that my reserve tank goes to 45 miles, I was impressed because I was under the impression that you may get 10-15 miles out of it, a pleasant surprise. I'm still learning every day. This is a great/fun bike.

Whomever recommended chain wax for an open chain is an idiot. Chain wax is an excellent product for preventing rust, but provides next to no lubrication. Therefore, chain wax is a great product for ringed chains that carry their lubrication sealed inside. The wax congeals to form a weatherproof coat to prevent rust and usually dries with too little tackiness for dirt and crud to cling to it.

Open chains need lubrication. Motor oil is good, but tends to sling off, making a huge mess. Oil is also sticky, causing dirt and crud to stick to the chain, making it difficult to keep clean. Soaking in a degreaser is a good way to clean an oiled chain, and requires time after cleaning for the degreaser to dripp off and dry up. Oil is also too viscous to penetrate between the pins and rollers unless heated, meaning the chain must be removed from the bike for proper lubrication.