Basic riding 101 question
Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hey guys!

I have noticed I have a horrible habit that stems from how I drive a car. I do all city driving, when I go around city corners a lot of times I have the clutch in and when I exit the corner I go into 2nd. Not a big deal in a car, but on a bike I should be in gear with proper braking before the corner. Am I right to try to break this habit?

Any advice for slow turns when you are in between gears (too fast for 2nd, too slow for 3rd)? I am a novice so I will take any advice.

Thank you,

Adam

Quote Originally Posted by ceramite View Post
    Hey guys!

I have noticed I have a horrible habit that stems from how I drive a car. I do all city driving, when I go around city corners a lot of times I have the clutch in and when I exit the corner I go into 2nd. Not a big deal in a car, but on a bike I should be in gear with proper braking before the corner. Am I right to try to break this habit?

Any advice for slow turns when you are in between gears (too fast for 2nd, too slow for 3rd)? I am a novice so I will take any advice.

Thank you,

Adam

Great question, Adam.

#iThink You always want to be in gear, whatever gear fits the situation. Form a habit of being able to shift, up or down, in all situations ... even slow turns.
    Ride Along With Me On YouTube: Hidden Content

Correct. Most* riders should make a habit of braking and downshifting and before a corner or curve. Motorcycles are most stable when at a steady power setting as it takes all the slop and jerkiness out of the driveline and in corners, loads the suspension.