• 3 Post By 2scoops
  • 3 Post By Deepseadan
  • 4 Post By lugnut
  • 5 Post By GaryL
  • 1 Post By renny10n
  • 2 Post By elime

Thread: New TW owner thinking about switching to synthetic oil

New TW owner thinking about switching to synthetic oil

Howdy! My names Craig. I've been a member for a bit but just purchased my first TW. It's a 2003 with 725 miles. It's stock right now but I'm going to add hand guards, and a rear rack asap. I've also been thinking about going to a synthetic oil (I've read several threads here on the subject). My question is, do I have to do anything to transition to the synthetic oil or can I just do a normal oil change? Love the forum!!!
    Ken likes this.

Ken
    Welcome and congratulations on the new ride. I'm no expert on synthetic oil but from what I have heard they are compatible not requiring anything more than changing it out. I put synthetic oil in my air compressor and it never tripped the breaker again. From that aspect it did seem more slippery. I only drained and changed.
    CG1, cowboyjeff and Dryden-Tdub like this.

Hi Craig congrats on your first TW-200 you will not be disappointed. I have a 2014 with 11,000 miles on it and I have be running Mobil 1 motorcycle (synthetic) since about 3000 miles. Nothing special to do just normal oil change and clean the oil strainer and oil filter. If this is the first oil change you will find a good amount of medal shavings in the oil filter don't panic its normal.

2014 Yamaha TW-200 ( my favorite)
    2015 Suzuki DRZ-400 SM
    2017 Kawasaki Z-125 Pro
    Last edited by 2scoops; 05-10-2017 at 11:16 PM.
    Ken, CG1 and cowboyjeff like this.

4. Remove Advertisements
    TW200Forum.com
    Advertisements

Just drain and refill with synthetic motorcycle oil. I did at 100 miles during my first oil change. My ktm 500 exc came filled with synthetic from the factory.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    cowboyjeff, CG1 and Ken like this.