do I need TOPO on my GPS
Close

I am still looking for a GPS. Do I need the TOPO maps if I am riding Fire Roads? I like to ride in the Ocala forest and wonder if the roads in the forest will show up on a regular GPS without the Topo maps.

Thanks,

I'm sitting in a coffee house right now, but as soon as i get home I'll fire up my Garmin & see what it shows for trails/roads in that area, then edit this post.

I don't have topos loaded on it, so it'll show what a regular street GPS will give us.

Edit: My street maps don't show the trails in the forest.

Stephen S.

'07 TW200:

15/50 sprockets, O-ring chain, D2Moto foot pegs

tweaked carb (127.5 jet, 0.019 needle shim, idle screw @2.25),

Rubbermaid "Action Packer" on homemade brackets

I use a topo micro SD card in my CX/Oregon and it seems to have pretty much all trails/logging roads I ride. The issue I find (novice here) is that with the 'micro SD' card it is pretty much a read only. "If" it is possible to preprogram a route, it will have to be done on the GPS unit. This I suspect will be more work than most folks will want to go through. The detail on my micro SD card is great, and really shows me where I am. I bit the bullet and also purchased Topo's on CD with "Base Camp" software that will allow me to plot out a route/path on my computer and load it into the GPS so it will ideally keep me on course during a new adventure. Hope this helps. Gerry
    Take care my Friend.........

4. Remove Advertisements
    TW200Forum.com
    Advertisements

SRS713 Thanks for checking I am at Salt Springs and have numerous Fire Roads and trails across the street. It will be interesting to see if any of them show. You should see 19, 314 and 316 as paved roads.