Model year preference
Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree32Likes

Thread: Model year preference

Model year preference

Hi,
    I'm brand new to the forum and I'm looking to buy a bike. I'm in my fifties and I started riding dirt bikes back in the 70s. I started on a Honda 50 minibike and over the years I rode just about everything. A Suzuki TS185, PE250, Honda TL250, to name a few, and a bunch of street bikes as well.
    But I haven't been riding in years and after searching the interwebs for dual sport/enduros I discovered the TW200. It sounds like the perfect bike for my kind of riding. Not a lot of street riding, just some riding on the back roads. Not so much to commute, but mostly just to get to the trails.
    I'm a fan of torque over speed. Infact, if trials bikes had a seat and were street worthy I'd be looking for one. But otherwise the TW sounds perfect.
    I'm looking to buy used, and there are a few on Craigslist in central Mass where I live. Everything from brand new to first year bikes.
    My question is, are there any model years that I should avoid? Any problem areas or known weak spots I need to be looking for?
    Thanks in advance.
    littletommy and jtomelliott49 like this.

Your question has been much debated (sometimes even seriously and others just hot air). Here is one link with both strategies. https://tw200forum.com/forum/general-...-wanted-2.html
    It comes down to changes in carbs, brakes in front; kick starter lost, and an iffy electrical system on the 1987 model year. Read and filter some of the opinions about red being faster etc. You can determine the exact years that these changes were made, and its not that many, but you may have to look at several threads to get the entire picture.
    Ken and jtomelliott49 like this.
    Tom - TW200 2002, Kawasaki VN 500 2006

Hidden Content

Central New Mexico

Welcome to the forum!!