Noob here from ADQ
Close

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree66Likes

Thread: Noob here from ADQ

Noob here from ADQ

Hey Tdubbers.
    Just bought a TW after lusting after them for years! Got a 2015 with 300ish miles on it for a good deal. the bike looked new minus a tiny bit of rust in the crevasses which looks surface esp given its age and being outside for 2 years in kodiak. The only thing the PO told me was that his wife knocked it over once and bent the clutch hand lever, which he replaced, and maybe the clutch foot lever.
    After putting about 100 miles on it I noticed some pinging, usually after its good and warmed up. I did just change the oil on it and was wondering if an oil change ever does something like that if I used different oil. Im not sure what the po used but I put the yamalube 10w40 in, and started noticing the ping about 20 miles in.

Welcome to the forum!!

Did you change the oil filter? There are some out there that are being sold that are wrong. It must have 4 holes for the oil to get to the top end. You should check it immediately before riding it further or you will damage the engine.

Quote Originally Posted by fj62chy View Post
    Hey Tdubbers.
    Just bought a TW after lusting after them for years! Got a 2015 with 300ish miles on it for a good deal. the bike looked new minus a tiny bit of rust in the crevasses which looks surface esp given its age and being outside for 2 years in kodiak. The only thing the PO told me was that his wife knocked it over once and bent the clutch hand lever, which he replaced, and maybe the clutch foot lever.
    After putting about 100 miles on it I noticed some pinging, usually after its good and warmed up. I did just change the oil on it and was wondering if an oil change ever does something like that if I used different oil. Im not sure what the po used but I put the yamalube 10w40 in, and started noticing the ping about 20 miles in.