tire pressure
Close

Thread: tire pressure

good day everyone just a quick question is my tire pressure to high for the type of riding i am doing i have a 2010 tw200 bought used this year with 500km on it it now has 3700km on it i have gone out a couple of times with a couple of friends with there and tw200 and find it hard to keep up with them on the trail but no problem on the pavement this is my first time with a trail bike i have stock tires on front and back i have read in this form that the front tire will wash out on you and it does but will have to do for this year i have also read that some of you guys are running 12psi front and back i checked my tire pressure front was 25psi and back was 27 psi i am going out on the trail tomorrow just wondering when i get to the trail (mud water and lose gravel) if 12psi front and back would be a good tire pressure to try sorry for babbling on cheers

As long as you don't expect a lot of large rocks, 12 PSI should be ok for the trails. You will find that the bike will handle much better at a lower pressure. I like 15 PSI a lot.

I run with about 12psi front and rear for off-road and trail conditions. I carry an electric air pump and connected a power outlet so I can air the tires back up for pavement use. I won't air up if I'm only going to be on pavement for just a short distance though.
    Hidden Content A ride in the woods helps me relax and release tension. The fact I'm dragging a body should be entirely irrelevant?

4. Remove Advertisements
    TW200Forum.com
    Advertisements

My owner's manual lists tire pressure of 18 psi for rider weight up to 198 pounds with all gear. Over that weight they list 25 psi. Obviously those are street-riding pressures to handle speed. I started off at 18 psi for both highway and off-road. Fine for highway but so-so for dirt. I weigh 175 with maybe an extra 10 pounds for gear. Last time off-road I ran 14 psi and it was better. Didn't do a lot of highway, but it felt OK.