• 1 Post By DougDotyTW200
  • 1 Post By Elvesus
  • 2 Post By Miaugi
  • 2 Post By Tweaker
  • 1 Post By ejfranz
  • 1 Post By Xracer

Thread: New to the TW200, Old to bikes

New to the TW200, Old to bikes

So I’ve been lurking a while after getting my first TW200 just over a month from a local dealer who had just one 2018 on the floor. The appealing sand-beige color scheme sealed the deal.

I’ve been riding and wrenching motorbikes for nigh on 50 years after learning the craft on quaint British marques that always needed some attention. Now experience coupled with old age has taught me the value of light and reliable qualities for downsizing.

Along the way I was distracted by Yamaha’s SR400 in a fit of nostalgia for my old SR500 and love of single-cylinder thumpers in general. It would have been a keeper except kickstarting became too painful for this elderly gent with bad knees.

The Suzuki TU250X fit the bill nicely until we relocated and a locomotive like the SCR950 became more practical and safe jostling around trucks on the freeway. V-twin torque to the rescue! Sure enough, I soon missed the convenience of a light bike to zip to the local store without wrestling a 500 pound+ behemoth around the parking lot.

The TW200 (should I call it T-dub?) appeared on my radar screen like magic when I was restocking my oil stash at the dealers and it checked all the right boxes to complement the big SCR950. Fortunately I had a trailer to bring the TW home without having to stress the new engine.

Yes, break in is a chore being limited to 35 mph on backroads and the first thing I did was fit a 15-T countershaft sprocket for a little more zip. Then the TW hummed along happily until an alarming clatter appeared after 200 miles during the first cold start in the morning.