Maintanance for a new/older TW?
Close

Hey guys! My tw is an 05 model and I just bought it and it's just about ready to turn 500 miles. It's in show room condition and I have no idea what I'm doing when it comes to mechanics. I live in a small town in eastern WA and only have a few spots to taker her for scheduled maintenance. When and what should I do to keep her tip top and with out draining my wallet? I plane to take her hunting as much as I can and will be in some harsh conditions. To sum it up I'm going to ride the bike allot and I am a total newb at maintenance. Thanks for any replies to my post.

Change the oil now.

Check the owner's manual for other maintenance items. You can do most of it yourself. They include adjusting the valves periodically, changing the oil, cleaning the air filter, greasing the swing arm, etc. etc.

But seriously, change the oil right now. You are in the break in period. I would change it again at 1000 and then every 1000 from then on if you ride it hard.

Where about do you live? If we're close, I'd like to help you out.
    If you can't find it, grind it

1990 TW200

4. Remove Advertisements
    TW200Forum.com
    Advertisements

i live in wenatchee and would love to have any help i can get thanks!

Welcome to The T-Dub Club!

Head on over to this thread and get the manuals.

You should find just about everything you need to know in those documents, get familiar with them, they will save you a ton of money, time and aggravation.

Next go to the Tech section of this forum and "Read" all of the pinned topics. (Don't just look at the pretty TW pictures, I know it's hard)