Tips For New Riders
Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hi everyone. I've been itching to ride for a few years now and I'm finally ready to buy a T-dub - really excited. I've searched and found a few good tips to avoid scams, but what are some good questions to ask when buying? I've noticed some ads say 'pink-slip in hand', what does that mean? I haven't rode since I was a kid, it's going to be an interesting test drive. Can't wait to post pics of my AZ trips here.

Welcome. "Pink slip" is synonymous with "title" or deed. Buying a motorcycle is really no different than buying a car. Never pay full; or asked price. When was last ridden, started, oil/ filter change, is there anything wrong with it, why are you selling it; etc., etc.. Assess the seller. If they look like a mutt reconsider. If his teeth are nasty; the teeth in the transmission likely are too People lie. No it's true; they do. Look, listen, and feel. Trust your gut. Don't be in too much of a hurry. Look around, and be diligent abou checking places like Craigslist, and Cycle Trader every day. The early bird gets the worm. Trust your gut. Oh; did I say that already. Ride it; hard. Wring it out. Have a knowledgable friend with you. Trust your gut.

Welcome Avi,

Towards the bottom of this thread there are some posts with good information: Considerations

4. Remove Advertisements
    TW200Forum.com
    Advertisements

Great name.

Welcome aboard.

I can explain it to you, but I can't understand it for you.

Powdercoated '87 frame, extended swingarm, YZ fork legs, ATV tire, 14/55, XT350 tank, spliced quick-release seat, disc brake conversion, beeg headlight, beeger rack, Lizrdcooler, Lizrdventz and bunch of other stuff all covered in invisible ink.

Hidden Content

Hidden Content