Checklist when buying a used TW
Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hi all,

I'm new here so let me introduce myself, i'm from Sri Lanka 22 year old and the TW has always been my dream bike, i've been collecting money to buy buy one and finally i've collected a decent amount to buy a good bike. one thing i mostly love about this bike is the height of this bike cuz i'm just 5'5" and this bike is perfect for me, i've driven this bike a few times and cant just get this bike off my mind.

Finally coming to the point i did a search on the forum and couldn't find something similar to this i've seen a few bikes to buy but i kind of need your guys help as to what i exactly need to check when buying a used TW, as i don't wanna be ripped off buy buying a bike that's not worth the money, after all i've been collecting for it for 2 years so i've come to you experts to help me out on what i need to check on the bike before i buy it if you guys could provide me with something like a check list that i need to check before i choose the bike i would be highly appreciated.

Avoid 1987 models if you can help it. Their CDI is unique to that year, so small chance of finding one cheap when it fails.

2001 or newer models will have a disc brake on the front, while they no longer have a kickstart. I'd say get a 2001 or newer if you can, and you can add a kickstart later if you need it.

Look over the frame for cracks, check the rear shock near the bottom for the weld to be cracked (not likely, but possible).

If you can do a compression test or leakdown test before buying, that would save you from the biggest problems you might encounter. As well, you'll read about the right and wrong oil filters on this forum. If it has the wrong one, it's dead or dying quick. If the oil is low, thin, or the filter is full of metal, it's either very new, getting very old, or hasn't been cared for.