Hello from the UK!
Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree15Likes

Thread: Hello from the UK!

Hello from the UK!

Hello folks! My name's Will from Kent in the UK.

I've just bought a 2006 TW225 with 12k on the clock. It's being delivered next week and I can't wait to get out on it!

When it arrives, is there anything that's worth looking at (from a maintenance point of view) before I hit the road?

I'd appreciate any pointers as I'm a BIG novice when it comes to small Japanese engines!

Cheers,

Will
    admiral, Elvesus and Ken like this.

Hi Will. Welcome to the forum from Ontario, Canada! There's going to be a number of envious members here on your purchase as we can't get the 225 version on this side of the pond so about 99.8% of us depend on our 200's for fun. Although some have taken the plunge and built a 225 but we would love if we could actually just buy one like you did. Hope you enjoy the ride and good luck with the new to you T-Dub!
    Ken likes this.
    Hidden Content Sold...Oct 2018......'01 F650GS

Thanks!

I had no idea that the 225 wasn't available over there. That being said, they're not ten-a-penny over here either. This was the first one I found for sale in a looooong time, I'm glad I managed to get it before someone else snapped it up!
    Ken likes this.

4. Remove Advertisements
    TW200Forum.com
    Advertisements

Hi Big Willy, welcome to the forum!

I would check the gas (or should I say petrol?) tank to see its condition and if there is any fuel in it (probably not if this bike was shipped to you). If there is fuel in it, I'd suggest draining it and disposing of it since you won't know the age and condition of it. If the inside of the tank looks clean and free of rust, I would put about 1 gallon (or 3.8 liters) in and check for any leaks from the tank, petcock fuel line or carburetor.