Gleaning information from discussion groups on the internet.
Close

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree74Likes

Thread: Gleaning information from discussion groups on the internet.

Gleaning information from discussion groups on the internet.

I'm a relative novice with motorcycles (about 30,000 miles so far) and I find forums very helpful for learning things from other people's knowledge base/ long years of experience. However, this morning while listening to the archives of the podcast "Adventure Rider Radio" the guest on the show, Warren Milner, a retired engineer with Honda motorcycles, makes some very good points about putting too much credence into things people post in forums (in this case, related to modifying our motorcycles). I guess that should go without saying and just be common sense but sometimes we can accept things as "fact" because the person posting seems like a very smart guy (or gal) and spends a lot of time posting things online. I found the episode interesting and I think you will too. Below is a link:

https://adventureriderradio.com/adve...ith-bret-tkacs
    Last edited by RDW; 04-07-2019 at 09:30 AM.
    reddave likes this.
    2013 TW200---2007 XT225---2014 CB500X
    "Everyday is a school day"

As a mechanic I would agree with Warren Milner as far as not trusting everything on the internet. However pretty well everything I own has been modified to suit my needs.
    Last edited by Peterb; 04-08-2019 at 03:38 PM.
    reddave and Darth like this.

I don't open anything on the internet so I didn't listen to the podcast if that is what it was.....but my background is in Engineering and I have never modified any vehicle I have bought...car....bike....boat....whatever.... and I only use the parts and lubricants and fuels specified in the owners manual under the assumption that the Engineers that designed the vehicle have the knowledge, skill and motivation to build a durable and dependable product....