• 1 Post By OldMan
  • 2 Post By TW-Brian
  • 1 Post By OldMan
  • 4 Post By PlacerLode
  • 2 Post By elBuro
  • 1 Post By Purple
  • 1 Post By Sthrnromr
  • 1 Post By PlacerLode

Thread: Buying a used TW - What to look for ?

Question Buying a used TW - What to look for ?

I did some searches here and didn't find a dedicated thread about buying a used TW - if there is one out there maybe you could point me in its direction. If not - I may be going to look at a used TW in the next day or two. What are the things I should be looking for in a decent used bike? Or be looking out for is probably the better question to ask ? What things on TW 's in particular are potential problems, especially on a bike 10 or so years old with a few thousand miles on it ? What do you do when you are looking at a used TW you may buy ? I'm a decent handyman, but I am not a mechanic - , my mechanical skills are pretty much limited to things such as replacing a carb that is acting up on the lawnmower and changing inner tubes on bicycle tires - simple stuff that I can watch someone do on you tube and copy.

Also I found a general used price guide here

https://www.nadaguides.com/Motorcycl.../Special-Notes

It isn't very specific for mileage etc - is there somewhere else I should be looking to get an idea what a used bike should cost me ?
    Last edited by OldMan; 04-16-2019 at 04:07 PM.
    PlacerLode likes this.

Scroll down and check out the "Similar Threads" listed below.

thank you - I didn't even know that feature was on the forum - moderators delete this thread if you want
    PlacerLode likes this.

4. Remove Advertisements
    TW200Forum.com
    Advertisements

I use a simple pattern I seek TW's with 1000 or less miles, preferable under 500 miles and ideally under 100 miles and not submerged in a fresh or salt water lake or river !

With that many miles you really cannot hurt a TW or any bike for that matter