TW200 Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Vote for the Site Favourite BOTM winner for the year of 2022 HERE!

Performance: TW200 vs Vanvan 200

43K views 33 replies 23 participants last post by  Beungood 
#1 ·
Hi all, Im curious, how does the TW stack up with engine performance against the injected Suzuki VanVan 200? Anyone owned both? Which did you prefer? Which has quicker acceleration, faster top speed?

#2 ·
I have no personal experience but from what I have read the vanvan is more steet oriented and the TW is actually more off road oriented. It mostly depends on your intended use and personal likes. Some people have bought used tws and they nearly look like a vanvan after personalizing them. I have had my TW since around 1995 and I do more street riding than trail riding so I do have the street tires on it. Everything else is stock. I have only rebuilt the carb one time. I contribute the 1 time only carb build to a fuel filter, tank liner and Marvel Mystery Oil even though I am running the gas/ethanol mix. Your fuel pump can't go out on the TW. Since I have the older TW I never changed brake fluid, it has none. The TW is very reliable and very low maintenance. I could have bought another TW from the maintenance I've spent on another bike. My TW has hit up to 70 mph but I wouldn't be going on a freeway road trip on it. Around town my acceleration seems quick compared to the cages. The light turns green and I'm at the next light before they are moving. I don't know how fast the vanvan actually is. I like Yamaha quality so I would buy the TW but that's just me.

#5 ·