Movin on up
Close

Thread: Movin on up

First off I must state that the TW has been absolutely wonderful to me over the years, I have owned two of them in my time in fact. Just to avoid what I know is coming from this post I'll state that I have made up my mind on selling it. Let's avoid those "think it over" replies if we can please and thank you. My son and I started riding trails, hills, creeks and plenty of mud at offroad parks nearly every weekend last season. We are having a BLAST! However, I've found the TW to be a bit lacking for what I've grown comfortable with quickly in our trips off road. I'm ready for a little more bike on and definitely off road! I'm tired of the TW constantly trying to wash out from under me in the mud and also not quite having the low end power I'd like a good bit more of. I want more bike... and fuel injection! What I really, really want is some help deciding between its replacement options though! That's where I need the collective knowledge of all of you who know what I'm feeling right now. I am between the CRF250L and the XT250, I'm not real big on buying used so I've gravitated to those two choices. Not interested in a Kawi or Zuki I know that. Also, what makes the XT worth the $700+ more than the CRF? So anyway... here's my POU (philosophy of use) with the new bike. I want something that will fill my needs between city driving/work commute (should be easily done) but be REALLY ready for the trails, mud, hill climbs and a decent jump here and there! The WR would be AWESOME but it's far out of my price range. I really like the weight difference on the XT (lighter) over the CRF but not for $700 more. Where does that $700+ come into play? Is the CRF's suspension up to the job of my stated off road requirements? It looks quite squatty and soft from what I've seen but maybe I'm wrong. I've looked over the side by side specs but I don't understand some of that stuff like compression ratios and the technical things like that. I heard o