Be still, my heart.
Close

Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Be still, my heart.

There are few things in this life that I have coveted: my first car (a 1974 Karmann Ghia convertible--wish I still had it), my Martin guitar (0016ny--1976--still have), my 1988 Suzuki Samurai (wish I still had it), my 2003 Honda Rancher, Olive (still have) and a Yamaha tw200.

I'll be 62 one month from today; I'm a woman; I'm an artist; I built my own house here on the coast of Maine. I've lived in about fifty places from the midwest to Alaska to California.

My first "cycle" was a Honda CT70 which I got when I was in college (had a couple more since) and, in the mid-seventies, in Chicago, I had a Harley Davidson 250 on/off-road bike.

In high school, my sister's boyfriend and I rode the power-line trails and woods in Michigan--first on a Honda 160, later on a Honda 305 Scrambler. Sometimes he'd give me the key and a dollar for gas so that he could stay home and make-out with my sister, Pretty Looey, in the stairwell. Win-win.

I've been coveting a tw200 for years now, mentioned it to a friend who said, "Oh, I think that might be what I have in my garage," we checked, sure enough and next thing you know I was begging for first refusal rights if she were ever to sell it. She is! She will!

So, I'm soon to take delivery of a 2006 in near-showroom condition with only 2056 miles on it.

We have over 6000 miles of trails in Maine.

Be still, my heart.

Welcome, and congrats on the TDub, riding one starts out real good and then gets better!
    Only a fool would attempt it, and God help me, I am that fool!

That was easily the most succinct and eloquent first post ever writ.

That, and the fact that some of the bikes mentioned still bring a tear to me one good eye...

Welcome aboard.

I can explain it to you, but I can't understand it for you.