Stupid Handle Bar Question...
Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Yes, I'm a newb with some of this stuff...sorry . So, I just bought the Pro Taper bars as it seems they would be easiest to install...Well, not for me...LOL. Two questions...1. The numbers on the ends of the bars seem to indicate where you would maybe cut the bars to match the stock length of the exsisting bars? Is that right? Otherwise, it doesn't seem that the cables will be long enough without getting new ones. Seconds, I'm assuming that I have to cut off the stock grips and get new ones?

Thanks for the patience guys. I went up one tooth on the front sprocket and it has made a huge difference on the street!!!

Quote Originally Posted by bsullivan161 View Post
    Yes, I'm a newb with some of this stuff...sorry . So, I just bought the Pro Taper bars as it seems they would be easiest to install...Well, not for me...LOL. Two questions...1. The numbers on the ends of the bars seem to indicate where you would maybe cut the bars to match the stock length of the exsisting bars? Is that right? Otherwise, it doesn't seem that the cables will be long enough without getting new ones. Seconds, I'm assuming that I have to cut off the stock grips and get new ones?

Thanks for the patience guys. I went up one tooth on the front sprocket and it has made a huge difference on the street!!!
    Welcome,I have a 94 model with the protaper bars,and I left them at stock length.I had to reroute some cables is all.And yes you will need new grips.P.S. cut or don't cut, it's a personal choice.Myself I like the extra added length.
    1994 TW

Had but regrettably sold a 1982 KZ1000R Eddie Lawson Replica

Quote Originally Posted by Drifter View Post
    Welcome,I have a 94 model with the protaper bars,and I left them at stock length.I had to reroute some cables is all.And yes you will need new grips.P.S. cut or don't cut, it's a personal choice.Myself I like the extra added length.