Just wondering
Close

Thread: Just wondering

Just wondering

This morning I have read and reread a couple of threads on sprocket sizes and carb jetting.

Yesterday a riding friend send me pictures of his new to him Volusa - with shot gun pipes.

My wondering this morning is how come folks think that they can do more with bolt on parts that the kazillion engineers at Yamaha can?

One thread this morning talked about jetting for weather. I am confused - jetting as I understand it - and I freely admit that I am not an engineer - has to do with the amount of fuel sucked into the intake for the engines How could the weather impact on the amount of fuel being used? Where does the idea that temperature impactss on jet size. Altitude yes but temperature?

The other threads this morning related to sprocket sizes - the stock machine came with what I will call a Universal Ratio of 14/50. This means that for the average rider on the average road conditions - Yamaha engineers worked out that this was the best combination. Why do folks think that mysteriously they can somehow improve on the performance of the TW by tinkering with these ratios?

As for the shotgun pipes - well I value my hearning to much to even want to hear that engine running.

It seems to me that a lot of bolt on stuff - iridium spark plugs, different jets, different sprockets noisy or non existent mufflers is simply folks tinkering.

Does that tinkering really make much difference or is it mostly for personal satisfaction?

Just wondering

The impacts of well thought out mods are real. Most mass produced products are under optimized to meet price targets, fleet emissions standards, and average consumer needs. The vast majority of folks a good with that. Some people need more.

My VROD has modified exhaust, intake, and EFI fuel maps that completely change the personality of the bike. It functions far more efficiently. Many of the enhancements made by users were adopted into subsequent model year designs.