TW200's why always in short supply?
Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question TW200's why always in short supply?

I've been posting here and reading for many years - I had to renew my membership a while back and lost all of my previous post count. But I remember reading and seeing comments about TW's being in short supply for the entire time that I've been reading this forum.

The question is why? If there's always a shortage, that would mean that Yamaha could easily increase production without creating a surplus.

Why market something and then not make enough to meet demand? Does this keep the price higher or something?

I don't get it.

How many folks looking at a TW and like them end up going with another brand simply because the dealer doesn't have TW's in stock?

I'm currently looking and that's exactly what's going on - the dealer is out of stock on the TW's but has Honda CRF's in stock and is pushing that.

And while I'm at it, why not boost the power plant to 250 cc's and bump the tank up to around 3 gallons? Don't they listen to their customers? These have been long time issues as well....
    Last edited by OSOK; 08-15-2013 at 11:17 AM.
    God is great and beer is good and people are crazy.

OCS, MP
    125th Company MSSG

2013 Jeep Wrangler
    2013 Tdub
    2011 Kubota L3200 4x4 with a bucket Hidden Content

Hidden Content

There is some evidence that things are changing in our favor and that the bike is in fact increasing in popularity, but from a buisiness point of view the fact is that the TW isn't yet in high demand at all relative to most bikes in this displacement class.

They come in pairs, two to a crate and dealers are hesitant to replenish annual stock on a slow moving model. When they run out, they gotta order TWO more, not just yours. They're far more likely to sell 4, 6, 8 or even 10 XT's or little Hondas than they are to sell 4 Tw's in a year, and they assess their risks and do their ordering accordingly.