Just picked up my first TW200 and my first motorcycle
Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Just picked up my first TW200 and my first motorcycle

I sold my 74 FJ40 last week and just bought a 98 TW200 with 2400 miles yesterday and am about to start on the process of getting it up and running. Got a new battery and got the bike to run rough with the choke out for about 10 seconds. Planning on rebuilding or cleaning the carb and need some advice on a carb rebuild kit and any other advice for a new owner bringing back an older bike. I am new to working on motorcycles so any helpful tips would be greatly appreciated.

Questions
    -what carb kit?
    -what other maintenance should I take care of?
    - What gremlins should I look out for?

Here is the bike....

image.jpeg

No advice, but welcome to the board! You've selected a tough critter - it should come back just fine! I like the color too lol.
    God is great and beer is good and people are crazy.

OCS, MP
    125th Company MSSG

2013 Jeep Wrangler
    2013 Tdub
    2011 Kubota L3200 4x4 with a bucket Hidden Content

Hidden Content

Welcome. Check this out. There's also some good carb info on the Technical Write-Ups part of the Technical Help forum.
    My handle is B-dub, I ride a T-dub, and drive a V-dub.

4. Remove Advertisements
    TW200Forum.com
    Advertisements

Cool, first moto anf you picked a good one! Congrats.
    It's only the end of the rode if you fail to make the turn.

Sold a four wheeled Land Cruiser and bought a two wheeled one. Nice! If ever there was a motorbike that could be considered equivalent, the TW is it. Slow, bulletproof, unstoppable and dead reliable. Well done!