Replacement bolts for the seat
Close

Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By lizrdbrth
  • 1 Post By Point37
  • 1 Post By elime

Thread: Replacement bolts for the seat

Replacement bolts for the seat

I am new to the TDub world and so far am loving the bike. I'm having a few issues (like last time I started it it idled fine, but any throttle input would kill the motor) but there are plenty of threads to resolve that (time for carb clean, maybe 130 jet, and fuel filter, you guys have posted TONs of information ). But there is one issue I can't find an answer to and I'm hoping for some help.

My bike didn't come with the seat bolts, and I've already lost the seat twice (stand up riding and a few mild off the ground experiences). I've searched the web and this forum and can't find anyone that has posted the exact stats of the bolts so I can pick them up at a hardware store today. I've got the yamaha part number for them, but even then the description is always "Yamaha Bolt" and doesn't give dimensions. Anybody know the size of those bolts (ex. M8 x 15 x 1, etc).

Thanks,

Todd

M6. But I wouldn't simply replace them. Then you'll have the opposite problem in that you'll have a heckuva time getting the seat OFF.

There are a couple of threads for ideas on homebrew quick-release seat bolts or pins you might want to look at.

Have a look at the inserts in your seat to make sure there isn't half of an old bolt stuck in there. A lot of times if the P.O. left the seat bolts loose they became sawn in half and the stub is still stuck inside the seat.

Last edited by lizrdbrth; 09-19-2013 at 10:05 AM.
    I can explain it to you, but I can't understand it for you.

Powdercoated '87 frame, extended swingarm, YZ fork legs, ATV tire, 14/55, XT350 tank, spliced quick-release seat, disc brake conversion, beeg headlight, beeger rack, Lizrdcooler, Lizrdventz and bunch of other stuff all covered in invisible ink.

Hidden Content

Hidden Content