What to look for?
Close

What to look for?

Hello tw200 forum!
    My name is evan and I'm from Albuquerque, NM. I am looking to getting a tw200 as my first bike. I just don't know much about bikes, and thought this must be a place to learn more.
    I just wanted to know if there were any major problems with a 1991 model and is that a good bike to start with. I will be mostly riding on street to trails around my house and dirt roads.
    Are these good bikes to learn to work on? I have no experience working with bikes. If I get this bikes what would you recommend I do to make sure it will run good for a long time.

Thank you so much,
    Evan

I don't know of any specific issues with the 1991 models. They came in two colors, one is called Onyx and is all black and one is like mine with black frame, white plastics and purple tank and seat.

things to look for IMO, tires, even if good they are probably old and hard. Chain and sprockets. Check for oil seeping around engine and base and if the bike is low miles it has sat a long time so a good carb cleaning and good look inside the fuel tank for rust is in order.

Good luck, hope you get it and post some pics.

GaryL
    Be Decisive! Right or Wrong just make a decision. ​ The road of life is paved with flat squirrels that couldn't make a decision.

Since light travels faster than sound, some people appear bright until you hear them speak.
    If I agreed with you, we'd both be wrong.

1987 Yamaha BW350 Big Wheel
    2017 Snowdog Track sled tow motor for ice fishing
    Kubota BX2370 Subcompact tractor with snow blower
    Wilderness System Ride 115 fishing Kayaks

Quote Originally Posted by GaryL View Post
    I don't know of any specific issues with the 1991 models. They came in two colors, one is called Onyx and is all black and one is like mine with black frame, white plastics and purple tank and seat.