New to TW200 Forum
Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: New to TW200 Forum

New to TW200 Forum

Hoping to buy a TW soon. Just wondering if there are any female TW riders out there and what they think of their bikes. I may do mostly paved roads with some off road riding. Should I get street tires instead of knobby tires? Does the bike handle well on paved roads?

Hi Dragonlady,
    I am kinda new to the TW thing also.
    I haven't seen any ladies on here, but I'm new.
    Hope you find your ride soon.
    Welcome to the TW world.
    VDR
    Old As Dirt,

Living in Las Vegas and loving it.

Sure there are other gals on here with TWs. Not usually as vocal as us guys but the TW is a great bike for beginners. The tires are fine for what you want to do to begin with, just keep the air pressure right for the job and weight. The TW is a dual purpose, on/off road bike and as a result it does pretty good in either condition but does have limitations in both. They do fine up to around 55 MPH on the street and some can hit 65-70 but not cool IMO.

Do the maintenance as described in the owners manual and always check your oil level and other adjustments before you take a ride. The oil is checked with the bike in an upright position and not leaning on the kick stand. I put a small block of 2X4 under my stand on the garage floor and look to be between the lines in the sight window, just a little below the top line.

Some dealer shops have good, Real, mechanics and others don't! Your shops guy needs to be determined before you trust your bike to him. You can either learn your bikes needs yourself or find someone who can help keep things adjusted properly. I know gals who can turn a wrench as good as any guy and others who have a hard time filling the gas tank so you have to decide where you fit in that range. Bikes need to be maintained to get the most from them.