Just joined, saying hello, with a few questions
Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree5Likes

Thread: Just joined, saying hello, with a few questions

Cool Just joined, saying hello, with a few questions

Hi everyone. I just joined last night, I'm very seriously thinking about getting a TW by next Spring. I have been riding since 6 years old, and have never been without a bike since. Raced MX for a long time, but only had street bikes for the passed 20 years. Yeah, I'm old...lol. I don't want to spend more than I have to for a decent bike, so I'm doing my home work. That being said, are there any years that are better than others? Or years to stay away from? I'd be riding 60% street, 40% dirt. I pretty much know what to look for in a used bike, since I've been a motorcycle mechanic most of my life. Also, where online has alot of aftermarket goodies/stuff for these bikes? Any input or advice would be appreciated. Are these TW's really as fun as they look? I need to get back to my roots, and hit the woods, and sandy trails of the NJ Pine Barrens.

Thanks
    Bob...

Get a 88 or later, the 87 can have CDI problems, although I have had no problems with mine. Earlier models had kick starters, later models didn't. You want a kicker. Earlier models had drum front brakes, later models have disc. Really no difference in them in my opinion. Procycle has a great page with stuff for TWs.

Yes, TWs are lots of fun and you can do a lot with them to make a great adventure bike.

Welcome to the forum Bob, you will enjoy the simplicity of a TW.

Yamaha TW200 Parts and Performance - ProCycle

Welcome Bob!

4. Remove Advertisements
    TW200Forum.com
    Advertisements

Lizrdbrth wrote a post on the "Good, Bad and the Ugly" or something like that, that explained the different years and problems and pro's/con's from year one to the present, but I couldn't find it.

help..Lizrdbrth.

rbm
    Hello and welcome!