Hello! New to motorcycling.
Close

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree46Likes

Thread: Hello! New to motorcycling.

Junior Member Lemon Meringue Pie's Avatar

Hello! New to motorcycling.

Hi, everyone. I'm completely new to motorcycles in general, not just TW200s. I'm planning on signing up for the next MSF course available near me.

Lately, I've been trying to think of ways to connect more with the outdoors. A coworker of mine recently took a 4000-mile trip around the US on his adventure-style motorcycle (not a TW) and it looked like an experience I couldn't replicate by just driving a car. It really inspired me to do something similar. I've been on a few dirt bikes in my life and, while I know it isn't quite the same, it was a lot of fun when I did it.

I've been doing some research for a while on a good first motorcycle to purchase and the TW200 has really drawn me in with its unique style and small, cult-like following. I like that the bike seems to have a lot of personality. Also, I'm kind of a small guy at 5'7", 150lbs, so this bike seems like it would fit me well.

I've read elsewhere that a new sprocket would allow a TW200 to comfortably travel at highway speeds. Is this true? I need some experience first, but my eventual goal would be to take a 1000+ mile sightseeing trip around the country. Essentially, I'm trying to see if this bike would do well on such a trip.

Anyway, it looks to be a nice little community you all have here!
    r80rt and williamemack like this.

welcome lemon,

you've come to the right place here. the Tdub will do highway speeds, but that's not it's real sweet spot. there are numerous threads regarding different sprockets and the pluses/minuses from them, you may want to read them and help you decide.

that said, there are also numerous threads of long distance trips, and plenty of smiles per mile. the Tdub isn't a speedy cruiser, but it's a damn good bike that will get you more places than almost anything else will.

ride on.