BBQ and Smoking
Close

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree36Likes

Thread: BBQ and Smoking

BBQ and Smoking

I have really been enjoying my new smoker. I had a charcoal smoker that left in Hurricane Sandy. I recently bought an electric one from Masterbuilt. It is very easy to use and holds temperature very well. I have been finding recipes on youtube and other sites. The ribs and pork butts are awesome but I cannot get a handle on making a good brisket. I have followed two recipes to the letter and had two mediocre results. If one of you has the brisket secret, please post it! Thanks

Low and slow. I'm not a brisket expert, you need to cook them and keep cooking to break down the meat. Also doesn't hurt to wrap in foil after 6-8 hours to keep from drying out. I'm not familiar with your setup, but do have neighbors with electric smokers who love them. I cook on oak or pecan, between 225-250 degrees. I plan on doing some smoking this weekend also. I'll try to post some pics if I do. Would love to see some others chime in on this topic from around the world.
    Last edited by sp_cache; 05-24-2014 at 07:17 AM.
    Fred likes this.
    '73 CT-90
    '14 TW200
    Cycleracks Rear rack, Jimbo shield, Gmax dual sport helmet

I too was disappointed in first brisket attempts in the smoker. Fortunately I have dogs to help,get rid of the evidence.

4. Remove Advertisements
    TW200Forum.com
    Advertisements

Not smoking brisket yet, but got a good start. Cold beer, Elk burgers, sweet corn, Harley-Davidson green-chili sausage.......do what???? Wife bought them, they were surprisingly good. DSC02658.JPGDSC02660.JPGDSC02662.JPGDSC02663.JPG
    Fred, Ebbanflood and Pass Man like this.
    '73 CT-90
    '14 TW200
    Cycleracks Rear rack, Jimbo shield, Gmax dual sport helmet

Screw brisket, it's a cheap, dirty cut. Get a better quality cut.