Talk me out of moving to San Jose or California
Close

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree54Likes

Thread: Talk me out of moving to San Jose or California

My family is moving to San Jose, CA. While being close to family is good, i've had to give up my concealed carry privelages for the past 3 years when i left TX to move to NY. I see that NY is also very anti- dual sport as Most of my rides have been in PA. Can anyone here suggest places in CA that are both concealed handgun and dual sport friendly. It was a horrible time when i had to leave my 5 handguns in PA and eventually sell them. I miss them very much.

Year round riding can be done in California, just a shortage of quality dual sport (i.e. dirt) destinations near San Jose. The mild weather can be habit forming. Travel a bit and opportunities expand. I'm no expert but someone was advising me the other day on still being able to get Utah concealed weapons permit honored by California, classed conducted in california too, renewable from California also. Or holster the handguns, park the TW and take up a California pastime like Surfing and paying taxes.
    kj7687 likes this.
    2003 TW200 "Betty Boop"
    2006 TW200 "Nibbler", a.k.a. “Mr.Gizmo"
    Hidden Content All Things Considered I’ld Rather Be Motorcycling

The only good news I can give you is that San Jose is close enough to be one of the "Nor Cal Nut Jobs" clan. So dual sport riding not such a big prob. Lots of places around here to enjoy a good ride, and a great support group.

Some areas of Ca. have good sheriffs who will issue a ccw. Here in Mendocino co. we're lucky to have that. Not sure how that will work in SJ, but easy to find out.