Down market.
Close

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree53Likes

Thread: Down market.

Down market.

I have been doing the 4o1k for 31 years now and have seen it go up and down so no worries, I just up my contributions from 35% to 45% I am over 50 so I can do make up contributions buy low sale high and will go to 55% at the first of the year, at that point I can only put money in for seven month's then I will retire and move it to a tax free roth IRA and let it grow till I have to draw.
    Last edited by ZDR1; 09-05-2015 at 10:53 AM.
    Darth and Reddog like this.

What I am trying to say is if you are young and have a good job and have a 4o1k just keep putting the money in as you can afford it and do not let the wife say no as mine did and my X is on #5 husband now and it Is not my problem.
    Last edited by ZDR1; 09-05-2015 at 10:54 AM.
    TWilight and Darth like this.

And if you can (make under 100,000 a year) go Roth IRA in your 401k. I wish I had when I was able. Taxes are a killer.

Also most ( some) utilities stocks pay mediocre dividends but they don't change and only increase. WEC, LNT, DTE..... All around 3.5% dividends regular as clock work and I just got anywhere from a 6.3% to 8% raise in dividends. Plus they are some of the safest stocks to hold. Not extreme performers but when you do retire they are pretty safe.
    ZDR1, Lyterx, TWilight and 1 others like this.

4. Remove Advertisements
    TW200Forum.com
    Advertisements

Quote Originally Posted by zdiver1 View Post
    I just up my contributions from 35% to 45% I am over 50 so I can do make up contributions....
    I did similar. I did 50% for about my last 8 years of working. Aside from putting away a lot of money, the high contribution forced us to live a more frugal lifestyle, much like we might need to when retired.

The problem I've got now, if you want to call it a problem, is getting out of the frugal mode now that we are pretty well set.