• 2 Post By Rhodetrip
  • 1 Post By littletommy
  • 2 Post By Ebbanflood
  • 1 Post By boznarras
  • 2 Post By boznarras

Thread: firefighter stair climb benefit to fight cancer

Exclamation firefighter stair climb benefit to fight cancer

Hi

Back in September, I lost my wife of 30 years to cancer (sarcoma), after over 12 years fighting it. She went through 4 major surgeries, courses of chemo three times, weeks of radiation twice. It was a hard fight, and just now I am getting to where I can talk about it.
    I am a volunteer firefighter. Some of our department has gone to Seattle each year to take part in the Scott Stairclimb to raise money for cancer research. This year they asked me to consider doing it. So last Wednesday, Nov. 11, I signed up. While this event is for leukemia and lymphoma research, the spinoffs to all cancer types is inevitable, and it is the option before me to try and do something to fight this awful disease that has affected so many.
    We each pay all our own travel and lodging, meals, and an entry fee. All donations go to the cause. Last year about 1900 firefighters from over 300 fire departments came for this event.

If this strikes a note with you, please open the link below to my personal page on the stairclimb website. There is more info, and you will have the opportunity to contribute by clicking the tab above my wife Carol's picture, labelled "Donate Now".

Thanks for considering helping.

Walter

Scott Firefighter Stairclimb 2016: Walter Moorhead - The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society
    Fred, littletommy and Dryden-Tdub like this.

Your Carol was a beautiful woman.
    Saying "Sorry for your loss" doesn't begin to help you with your grief.
    Applaud your noble contribution to the Scott Stair Climb.
    boznarras, Dryden-Tdub and Mel like this.
    2003 TW200 "Betty Boop"
    2006 TW200 "Nibbler", a.k.a. “Mr.Gizmo"
    Hidden Content All Things Considered I’ld Rather Be Motorcycling