• 2 Post By Rider21
  • 1 Post By williamemack
  • 1 Post By 1911garand
  • 1 Post By Fred
  • 1 Post By arbolmano
  • 1 Post By jtstdub

Thread: Garage Fires

Garage Fires

Local fellow I bought my trailer from just had one of his storage buildings burn down loosing his tractor, a matching set of his and hers ATVs, a couple snowblowers, etc.
    I asked him if he had any BatteryTenders operating. Indeed he had two charging both the tractor and one ATV, both with wet cell batteries. He indicated that his son, a motorcycle mechanic by trade, said that several fires have been attributed to BatteryTenders or other charging devices left on for too long.
    With all the diesel and gasoline involved the fire's heat was sufficient to melt aluminum. As such the fire investigators said they doubted enough evidence existed to indicate a probable cause.
    However a word to the wise is to perhaps not trust many devices to be left drawing current unattended for extended periods of time.
    2003 TW200 "Betty Boop"
    2006 TW200 "Nibbler", a.k.a. “Mr.Gizmo"
    Hidden Content All Things Considered I’ld Rather Be Motorcycling

Thanks for the insight, Fred
    jtomelliott49 likes this.

Thanks for sharing that Fred. I have 3 going all the time. Maybe I should start cycling them.
    jtomelliott49 and mhomadness like this.
    Beauty is as beauty does.
    If it works good, it's beautiful.

4. Remove Advertisements
    TW200Forum.com
    Advertisements

winters in Sudbury, MA, summer on Squam Lake, NH
    I've always been a little leery of these devices so I make a 2.25 hr trip to NH in the wintertime to charge up the batteries. Yeah, I know it can be done with a smart phone, but I don't have one and can't get my wife to get one and learn how to use it.
    I sell TW200 stickers for $2.00ea. delivered. See Hidden Content for details. Hidden Content