Gaia GPS
Close
         
Results 1 to 4 of 4
Like Tree5Likes
  • 1 Post By chuckgarrett
  • 2 Post By admiral
  • 2 Post By chuckgarrett

Thread: Gaia GPS

  1. #1
    Member chuckgarrett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Meridian, CA
    Posts
    62

    Gaia GPS

    Does Gaia offer high resolution satellite maps? I only see the mapquest map layer and it sucks.
    I found on some other sites they are claiming there are no hi-vis satellite layers available.
    Just wondering what you guys are using.
    Thanks.
    admiral likes this.

  2. #2
    Senior Member Flathats's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    657
    Watching this...

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G930A using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Senior Member admiral's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Frosty Hollow
    Posts
    13,044
    I have the $20 one time pay plan and the sat view on the computer Gaia Website and on my phone are not that good when zoomed in as I suspect the reasoning for your question. I'm not sure if they changed their pay plans or not, looks like maybe they did, so not sure if sat resolution is better under the more expensive plans.

    I use a google earth app on my phone and google earth on the computer to get better resolution when zoomed in.

    FWIW, I really like Gaia so far when I have pre-planned my tracks/routes. Only starting to use it to make routes/tracks mostly on my cpu. I'm admittedly not real handy on the phone stuff yet except for viewing my tracks/routes and downloaded map areas for offline use i.e. out of cell service in GPS mode only.
    cowboyjeff and Tweaker like this.
    Hidden Content A ride in the woods helps me relax and release tension. The fact I'm dragging a body should be entirely irrelevant?

  4. Remove Advertisements
    TW200Forum.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    Member chuckgarrett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Meridian, CA
    Posts
    62
    I have the $20 version as well. I was hoping to have a resolution good enough to see the trails and decide what direction to go. Apparently, the subscription comes with a little better resolution only in some high traffic areas. They also say there is a way to add sources but the procedure to do so seems fairly involved. Gaia claims on their website that google maps seldom work as a source due to licensing.
    Maybe I'll use downloaded google satellite data for high res imagery in google maps and the gia app for tracking.
    ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
    cowboyjeff and admiral like this.

Sponosred Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Gps
    By floridaboy in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-15-2017, 11:21 AM
  2. How do you GPS?
    By 1911garand in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 73
    Last Post: 12-18-2016, 07:36 PM
  3. Best GPS value right now?
    By Oldad in forum Trails, Off-road, and Adventure Riding
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 03-27-2015, 08:07 PM
  4. gps
    By v650 in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-22-2012, 08:01 AM
  5. GPS?
    By DesertRat in forum Performance and Customization
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 02-17-2012, 04:12 PM