Yamaha vstar 250 ?
Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Alright, so I'm pretty sure I will be getting a cruiser style bike for next season. The ones that are tempting me are as the title states vstar 250, or 650, and the suzuki s40. Though of late the s40 is becoming less of a favorite choice.

I'm not a big guy, 5'2 150lbs. So I don't need a big bike. That said when I'm on the hwy I'd like to be able to pass vehicles when needed without too much strain on the bike. From what I've read on a few reviews around the web the 250 can do 85mph top speed. Now if this is true it is more than enough power for me.

I guess what throws me off is when I read reviews on other bikes like the 650 vstar, or the s40 (650cc) and they state that these bikes aren't great for the hwy speeds.

So anyone here had any experience with the virago, or the vstar 250 or even the 650?

thanks for reading

Tourist, I'm no expert but my alternative cruiser is the Kawasaki EN500. The reviews claim it will outdo the Yamaha 650s, and other of that general size range. If I had to point out potential negatives, its not as heavy or big as the larger bikes but that should not be a problem for your body size (nor is it for mine and I'm 6'), and secondly there are not a lot of "trick" aftermarket gadgets for it (yes windshields, saddlebags, pax seatbars, and bag supports, but no fairings or super chrome addons. We are not talking 85 mph, that thing will run 110 plus (faster than I'll ever ride it). Cost wise its not an expensive bike and like the tw200 has stayed amazingly the same over more than a decade (but was discontinued this years (in the USA at least), but they are available on the used market. Here's mine and it meets all of my needs as a highway bike.

And before the hwy bars/engine guard.

50 mph with a 150 mile range - its a fun ride. Tom
    Tom - TW200 2002, Kawasaki VN 500 2006

Hidden Content

Central New Mexico