Home Made Luggage System "Hillbilly Ingenuity" requested photos
Close

Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By flank
  • 1 Post By 87bags
  • 1 Post By OurDee

Thread: Home Made Luggage System "Hillbilly Ingenuity" requested photos

Home Made Luggage System "Hillbilly Ingenuity" requested photos

Here are the photos requested on my Northern Tool chainsaw case luggage on my KLR. I have been ridding with them for three years and no issues. The bike has been dropped twice and these boxes took it and saved the bike. No damage at all and I do not have crash/engine guards....Yet!

The top expandable bag came with the bike and is an OEM Kawasaki KLR bag. I can carry a bus load of stuff with this set up and attach more things like dry bags and such. The boxes are durable, very light weight, and can be made water tight with little effort and expense (a small amount of silicone on the seems and some foam weather stripping).

I may use one as a top case on my rear Cycle Racks which should be here anytime for the TW.??? Each box measures 20" long (front to back of bike) x 11" wide (out from bike) x 13" deep. They stick out about the same width of the wide factory KLR handle bars. Both tops and sides open for full access. On the sides that open out you can attach a small cable to your preference to control how far it opens. I have not done so as of yet because It stays in place unless you pull it out and everything is easily gotten with a little digging typical of most top loaders. These boxes are like a cross between a top loader and side like Pelican cases. MUCH CHEAPER TOO!

I have $140.00 in the whole system including stainless hardware, locks (locking hasp style keyed alike from Lowe's or Home Depot), steel for the frame, paint, and two boxes. It took me a few hours to mock up, cut steel, and fab or weld everything together. The frame was the hardest part. You could mount these boxes to any other frame like Happy Trails and others with a little simple thought and work.