Torn Between Two Bikes
Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree50Likes

Thread: Torn Between Two Bikes

Torn Between Two Bikes

I usually hate threads where someone asks strangers on the web to help with purchasing decisions, but here I am!

I love my TW for back roads and trails but I am considering something to get me to the trails further from home.(keeping the TW) In other words something that is better suited to highway cruising but still capable of moderate trails and backroads. i am considering two choices:

First, a 2016 BMW G650GS, used with 1300 miles. Has the optional spoked wheels, center stand and heated grips. It still has 1 year of the original BMW warranty left. Or, a new 2016 Honda CB500X. Both bikes are the same price, one year warranty and I love both of them! It seems like the BMW would be better off road but the Honda would be a more comfortable cruiser. I know the Honda would be as reliable as a stone but I have no experience with BMW reliability or maintenance. With the crappy wet weather we have been having I have not had the chance to test ride either bike. Opinions please? Has anyone ridden both bikes?
    Last edited by sibyrnes; 04-04-2018 at 07:29 AM.
    Ken likes this.

I met a guy at the flying monkey ralley with the 650 BMW and he had over 120 000 miles on his. He had some interesting stories on where he had been with his bike. If you went with the ralley raid kit for the Honda, you would have a good adventure bike. As they are the same price, I would go with the BMW.
    A guy I ride with had the Honda for a few years and loved it for the road. He did some FSR riding with it after putting a skid plate on it. He traded it in for an African Twin to allow him more off road riding.
    Ken likes this.
    2001 TW200 sporting a MT43 up front. Duro has gone to a good home. 2015 VStrom XT, 1996 DT 200, Broken 2010 Xingue 400 XY. 2009 WR250r now shared with my son.