which front wheel for drum brakes
Close

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By TW-Brian
  • 1 Post By TW-Brian

Thread: which front wheel for drum brakes

which front wheel for drum brakes

Hi all,

been reading some of the threads on the forum and you lot certainly know TW's I have just bought a TW125 and am converting it to an old skool bobber.

What I would like is front drum brakes, the reason is I want to use BSA Bantam bars and levers so don't want a reservoir on the bars.

Hope you can help

2001 is first year disk brakes on the 200 ,not sure about your 125 if they run the same size wheels etc .

Bruce,

Thanks for posting, mine has 18" fronts and 14" rears, does that mean that pre 2001 wheels had drums ? and if I could find one would it fit my 2002 bike ?

4. Remove Advertisements
    TW200Forum.com
    Advertisements

I am not an expert on these bikes ,but pre 2001 should work for you but you might need to look at the lower fork leg as it is probably a little different around the brake backing plate .

Hi Derek,

Welcome to the forum Derek!

Yes, all TW's were equipped with drum brakes until Yamaha switched to disc brakes. In the U.S., this switch began with the 2001 model year.

In order to install a drum brake front wheel on your bike, you will need a complete wheel/drum brake assembly, the brake cable and brake lever assembly, and also the left (brake) side lower fork leg assembly. I am not sure if the speedometer cable will just plug and play, but I would guess that it will.

Since most people want to convert their bikes from front drum bakes to disc brakes, it should be pretty easy to find someone who would gladly trade the necessary parts with you. I know that I would, but I am guessing that you are somewhere outside of the U.S.

Hope this helps,

Brian
    Fred likes this.

Brian