KC headlight instal
Close
    
    
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Member r_marsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Fort Worth
    Posts
    45

    KC headlight instal

    I was given a KC offroad light and I want to adapt it to my 90 TW. I was just going to wire it to the running light, leaving the "bright" wire unconnected (but covered) so I can use that as a de-facto off switch for covert riding in places I might not be allowed to be in. Will this cause any issues with the electrical system? Thanks group

  2. #2
    Banned ZDR1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    4,030
    The KC will pull 130 watts and should have a fuse it will drain the electrical system.

  3. #3
    Member r_marsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Fort Worth
    Posts
    45
    Maybe I shouldve prefaced with this, it is the Apollo series 5"round 55w light.

    5" Apollo Pro - Black - KC #1451 (Spread Beam)

  4. Remove Advertisements
    TW200Forum.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    Member r_marsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Fort Worth
    Posts
    45
    I took the stock light assembly off and was looking around to see how it wired up. If I wanted to remove the stock headlight and wire in the KC could I just leave the wire leading to the high beam switch unattached? Also how would it affect everything if I removed the indicator gauges? I switched to LED turn signals so it doesnt indicate when i have them blinking, I just want to lose that whole cluster and run the stock Odo. Any ideas from the group?

  6. #5
    Senior Member Skyking's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Frost, Texas
    Posts
    572
    I would be hard pressed to do away with my neutral indicator. It's become a "must have" item for me. Actually; I'm even thinking of putting one of the digital gear indicators that are out now, on my bike. I guess I'm just getting old, but I often find myself wondering what gear I'm in. Heck, I have even gotten on my bike, started it up, and reached around my left shoulder for my seat belt.
    I would imagine that you can just pull the display panel, wrap the ends of each wire, and just leave them bundled behind the headlight, and not have any issues.
    You probably should identify them in case you ever want to go back to the stock set-up.

    Ride on Daddy-O
    Last edited by Skyking; 10-15-2014 at 11:31 AM.

Sponosred Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. round headlight / dual headlight
    By fredzaha in forum Performance and Customization
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-04-2015, 02:32 AM
  2. GE LED headlight....
    By wbpolk in forum Performance and Customization
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-28-2014, 10:07 AM
  3. Headlight Q
    By Tom Bettiker in forum Technical Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-20-2014, 10:38 PM
  4. $13.00 HID Headlight
    By RainWillFall in forum Performance and Customization
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-09-2013, 08:46 PM
  5. Any ideas where to get a headlight bracket for a bottom mounted headlight
    By Lauro13 in forum Performance and Customization
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-22-2012, 11:52 PM