Custom Dash for Vapor
Close

Like Tree3Likes
  • 2 Post By RobG
  • 1 Post By RobG

Thread: Custom Dash for Vapor

Custom Dash for Vapor

I was bummed, but I guess not really surprised, when the "TW-Specific" version of the Vapor didn't include a specific mount. Instead I just got a very weird speedo cable that I have to build a bracket for.

Anyway, not content to just clamp it to my handlebars, I decided to go custom. I had the time and materials so I figured I'd give it a shot. I'm no professional; that should be evident by the finished product, but it far from sucks.

2015-02-22 13.52.18.jpg

I cut this out of a piece of 1/8" aluminum I've been carrying around for years. I found it on the ground on an ATV ride like ten years ago. It used to be a sign of some sort. I cut it using a hack saw and a grinder since my friend's shop was locked up today and I couldn't get to his plasma cutter. I traced the outline using the stock plastic dash, but then decided to make it symmetrical, instead of lop-sided like the stock dash.

2015-02-22 14.01.10.jpg

First test-fitting.

2015-02-22 14.01.21.jpg

Another angle. The rectangular hole on the right is for a voltmeter. The large round hole on the left is for the Vapor's wires. The two small holes below it are to attach the Vapor's aluminum bracket, which I bent into a U-shape using my vice and a hammer. The two holes to either side of the large hole are so I can fit a tool through to tighten the socket-cap screws holding the Vapor to the bracket. That way in a year when the battery needs replacing, it's a five minute job instead of a 30-min job with a lot of swearing.

2015-02-22 14.06.00.jpg

Vapor mount test.

2015-02-22 14.06.08.jpg

View from below.

Continued next post...
    GTG and admiral like this.
    '12 Suzuki V-Strom DL650
    '96 Suzuki DR650
    '92 Yamaha TW200
    Hidden Content - Organize your rides online!

2015-02-22 14.21.43.jpg

Power-on test.

2015-02-22 14.30.00.jpg