Sprockets 101, an intro course wanted
Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree6Likes

Thread: Sprockets 101, an intro course wanted

Sprockets 101, an intro course wanted

OK, I am new at this.

But I want my (soon I hope, weather permitting) TW200 to have longer legs.

The stock set up is 14/50.

Many of you run 15/50.

Others have suggested +1 on the front, and -1, -2, or -3 on the back.

What are the trade off's?

What about chain wear at different combinations of sprockets?

I am asking because I am new to chain bikes. Also, I do not want to get too creative because the more variance from OEM could mean loads and stresses that were never meant for the component---like final drives (read: repair $$$) on BMW oilheads and some K bikes.

Feel free to suggest a link, a book, or other material that could shed some light on this subject.
    TIA,
    Howard
    "The Obstacle is the Path"...B.K.S.Iyengar, commenting on the Practice of Yoga. The Iyengar Style of Yoga is both the most disciplined and precise.